Mail Box Mod question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jp71291

Original poster
Oct 14, 2019
I've searched all over and can't find a tutorial on how to do this. I'm trying to figure out how the elbow is attached to the mailbox. I'm a newbie to this site been lurking for a long time. I guess people are using a 3" hole saw? Then not sure how to attach. Thank you for any feedback.

I've searched all over and can't find a tutorial on how to do this. I'm trying to figure out how the elbow is attached to the mailbox. I'm a newbie to this site been lurking for a long time. I guess people are using a 3" hole saw? Then not sure how to attach. Thank you for any feedback.
Hi there and welcome!

My mailbox mod was done with a wall hanging mailbox so I can't speak to traditional mailboxes.
In any case If you have a pair of hardcore pointed snips I'm sure you can drill a hole in your mailbox and then use the snips to cut out a large hole. The other option would be to draw a circle on the mailbox and then draw dividing lines in/on the circle so then it looks like pie/pizza triangle slices. Then then drill the hole in the center of the pizza slices where they intersect and use the snips to cut along the lines leaving cut triangles you can bend UP with a pair of needle nose pliers.

Then you keep bending open the triangles until the elbow joint fits in them. Then take a 2.5-3.5 inch worm gear hose clamp and clamp those triangles to the elbow joint. Finish it all up by taping around the triangles with metal flue tape to seal up any gaps.

Clamp here (much much cheaper at a local hardware store):