• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Looking to get into electric smoking

mrmikewhite

Newbie
5
10
Joined Jun 27, 2016
Hi!

So currently i smoke with charcoal and after this past weekend, want to get into electric.  32lbs of butt and 22lbs of chicken kicked my ass lol.

I am looking at this unit and wanted to know what you guys thought.  Love the size and temp probe inside.  

Let me know what you think please, even if there is a similar electirc smoker for around the same price.

Thanks!


http://www.samsclub.com/sams/masterbuilt-smoker/prod15560335.ip
 

brickguy221

Smoking Fanatic
614
25
Joined May 27, 2015
That is one of the latest smokers in the Masterbuilt series and most if not all people that  have bought it love it. I have one myself. The warranty on it is 90 days, but Sams offers a 3 year warranty for $30, and most people will suggest you get it when you buy the smoker. Used correctly, you will love that smoker.
 

mrmikewhite

Newbie
5
10
Joined Jun 27, 2016
Are the reviews about having to load the hopper alot true?  I know its small but the reviews seem excessive.  

Thanks man!
 
Last edited:

brickguy221

Smoking Fanatic
614
25
Joined May 27, 2015
 
Are the reviews about having to load the hopper alot true?  I know its small but the reviews seem excessive.  

Thanks man!
Yes and no 

Yes if you use wood chips in the chip loader

No if you use a Maze or Tube from A-MAZE-N Products or The VORTEX from http://www.smokedaddyinc.com/products/wood-pellets/item/103-vortex-blend-pellets.html ... Then in these 2 cases, you load the Maze, Tube or Vortex one time, light it and go do something else while these tools do their work.
 
Last edited:

mrmikewhite

Newbie
5
10
Joined Jun 27, 2016
 
Yes and no 

Yes if you use wood chips in the chip loader

No if you use a Maze or Tube from A-MAZE-N Products or The VORTEX from http://www.smokedaddyinc.com/products/wood-pellets/item/103-vortex-blend-pellets.html ... Then in these 2 cases, you load the Maze, Tube or Vortex one time, light it and go do something else while these tools do their work.
Funny i was looking at the Maze kit yesterday, very cool idea.  Thanks for the input man, really appreciate it.
 

texas mathew

Newbie
18
10
Joined Jul 4, 2016
I love my Masterbuilt. I have the 40" and it looks just like your photo. Yes, using the chip loader, I have to re-fill the wood chips about 1-1.5 hrs using dry chips, and about 1.5-2 hrs using soaked chips. I don't mind too much because I visually check my meat between re-fills. The glass window is very easy to clean using a 2 sided sponge and vinegar. I've found the middle 2 racks yield better results than the top or bottom racks. The smoke flows counter-clockwise. A recent tip that I learned on Masterbuilt website, is to use foil in the pans to make clean up easier.
 
Last edited:

texas mathew

Newbie
18
10
Joined Jul 4, 2016
Yes and no 

Yes if you use wood chips in the chip loader

No if you use a Maze or Tube from A-MAZE-N Products or The VORTEX from http://www.smokedaddyinc.com/products/wood-pellets/item/103-vortex-blend-pellets.html ... Then in these 2 cases, you load the Maze, Tube or Vortex one time, light it and go do something else while these tools do their work.
Do you use the AmaZen maze in place of the chip tray, such that you can still utilize the chip loader?


 
Last edited:

brickguy221

Smoking Fanatic
614
25
Joined May 27, 2015
Do you use the AmaZen maze in place of the chip tray, such that you can still utilize the chip loader?


Do you use the AmaZen maze in place of the chip tray, such that you can still utilize the chip loader?


You can still use the chip tray along with the Maze if you wish, but you will have more smoke than you want if you use both at the same time.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.