LEM's Venison Bacon, Ground Formed Bacon QView Included

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

tallbm

Legendary Pitmaster
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Dec 30, 2016
Texas
So today I am trying my hand at LEM's Backwood Venison Bacon seasoning.  This is for ground formed bacon (GFB) not whole meat sliced bacon.

This is also my first attempt at any GFB, so I am only doing 5 pounds total in case I mess it up.  I followed the directions on the seasoning pack of 80% lean venison and 20% ground pork with fat (pork is at about 83/17 of meat/fat).  Personally I think I will end up going 50/50 lean venison to fatty pork but I wanted to give the instructions a shot before I go messing with something I have never done before.  

I had a bit of a mishap with my pellets catching fire a couple of times.  Between the two times I think I might have ended up with 30 total minutes of bad smoke rather than Thin Blue Smoke (TBS).  I hope everything is ok.  If not I think I can cut the outside off the loaf of bacon meat and hopefully salvage it but man it would suck to lose the rind.

I will keep everyone posted as to how it turns out and I will add pictures as well.  Here is what it looked like before it went into the smoker.

You'll be fine. 30 minutes of "bad smoke" isn't going to kill the flavor. Let it mellow out before packing it and it will be all good.

Did you cold smoke or hot smoke?

So I think it was a success!

I followed LEM's vague instructions as best I could with a small bit of deviation.

LEM's instructions says to "follow instructions for your smoker" and then says "or 200 degrees in an oven until internal temp hits 165F".