Johnny Trigg Style Ribs with Jeff's Rub & Sauce

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rubrchickenhead

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Aug 25, 2012
Martinez, Ca
No better way to spend a President's Day than to make some good ol' as-seen-on-tv American BBQ. I've only heard of Johnny Trigg style ribs from reading here at SMF, but I decided to give his basic recipe a try on some St. Louis spares. I did a 2-2-1 cook at 250 degrees. I have smoke blowing during the first 2 hours and the final hour for a total of 3 hrs with smoke.

I started things out with a coating of Jeff's rib rub, like so many other slabs of meat . . .

Here are the ribs after 2 hours of smoke with mesquite/cherry blend and 2 hours wrapped in foil with dark brown sugar, honey, tiger sauce, and unsalted butter (instead of parkay, no trans fat wanted) on each side of the ribs. 

After 20 minutes out of the foil I covered with Jeff's BBQ sauce and this pic is 20 minutes later right before I covered with sauce a second time.

Here it is after 2 coats of bbq sauce had cooked for total of 5 hrs on the bbq.

Johnny Trigg style ribs may be rich, but I see why he wins all those competitions and has been featured on the television set, these were killer! I will definitely make ribs this way again, the tiger sauce is an awesome touch. Everyone enjoyed them, although they are sweet the flavor from the tiger sauce and Jeff's bbq balances things out pretty well.

Last edited:
Love love love ribs!  Good smoke! 
icon14.gif

drool.gif