Is this wood OK to smoke with?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Vvax

Original poster
Jul 20, 2018
Hi Everyone,

I am new to stick burning and bought some Oak wood on Craigslist.

Do you guys think this wood will be good to cook with? Looks like some bugs got in there and dug through pretty much the whole thing. Some pieces just have a few holes. Some have some dark circles where the bugs dug through.

Also the last 2 pictures have green moss, and the next one looks like mold.

Also is there any red flags I should look for in wood NOT to use?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Attachments

• IMAG0951.jpg
    IMAG0951.jpg
    110.8 KB · Views: 173
  • IMAG0952.jpg
    IMAG0952.jpg
    107.2 KB · Views: 171
  • IMAG0953.jpg
    IMAG0953.jpg
    114.8 KB · Views: 157
  • IMAG0954.jpg
    IMAG0954.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 158
  • IMAG0955.jpg
    IMAG0955.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 149
  • IMAG0956.jpg
    IMAG0956.jpg
    116.8 KB · Views: 148
Last edited:
Oak is fine, as is any hardwood.
The kinds of wood that are not OK are woods like pine, with pine sap in them.
Fruit woods are very good, cherry, peach, and all the citrus woods.
If you find a wood your not sure about, just get on here and ask & someone will give you the correct answer.
Personally I'm a big fan of oak & hickory, because they are readily available where I'm located.
Al

The oak is good. But it looks like that wood could have been sprayed with pesticide. That wouldn't be an issue for heating wood but not something I would want in my smoker. You could ask the seller, but since you are dealing with a craigslist sale, the credibility of whatever answer you get is zero.

Reactions: SonnyE