Insulating A Char-Griller??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wdoss89

Smoke Blower
Original poster
May 23, 2015
Centralia, Mo
So some might think this is off the wall but since Im just getting started in the smoke and que world I am just seeking advice and pointers.

One of the things I have been noticing when I smoke or just do a burn in my smoker to learn its odd points and the biggest one I see is the thin metal...ugh so much heat loss!!
My idea is to take a welders blanket and literally bolt it to the top half of my main chamber all the way around. It would be a lot like just draping it over the thing and I am sure I could at least make it look good(wife and grandma are seamstresses).

If anyone has experience doing something similar or any other suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks to everyone!!

I have a Char-Griller also. I havn't notice an exceptional need to have it insulated. Sure the metal is thin, but it seems to do fine as long as I'm not smoking during the winter when it is less than 30 degrees out (which I still do occasionally), just takes a little longer and a little more fuel. I put a couple of foil casserole pans in the bottom filled with water that helps with heat and moisture rention.

Aha I knew I wasnt alone and mods...lol. Yes i have done a lot of mods for it. Gasket to seal the chamber, 2 therms on chamber, baffle plate inside, USDA silicone gasket between the chamber and firebox, charcoal basket in firebox, and fan set up for temp control. I researched before building it up!!