How to get that TANG!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DailyLunatic

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 11, 2023
Ban Ko Kaeo, Thailand
I’m a newbie. I’ve done a couple of loose grinds. Working on recipes, gathering my equipment, etc…
Looking to my first stuffing and interested in a snack stick to give to friends here. (I live in Thailand. And pepperoni sticks are not common)
I know I can do without the Slim Jim signature tang, but would at least like to make the attempt.
First. While I have located a source for Encapsulated Citric Acid (ECA), it’s 1900 baht ($55) for three oz. so this is a last resort for my budget.
Powdered Buttermilk is available, but I hear the effects are minimal.
Lastly, I can ferment, but as a beginner I am hesitant due to lack of experience, not certain I can find correct cultures, and that even nighttime temperatures are above 30c. (No cold smoking)
Would love to hear from the hive mind about other options, or something I might have not considered or missed about above.

-Sterling

Can you get cultured buttermilk? I read that works good.

Aside from fermenting, ECA is the next best option, but like Adam said, cultured buttermilk powder may give you enough tang, I used it in a chicken sausage, but don't remember how much I added. I will see if I can find that particular recipe. It was good, but I don't make much chicken sausage.

Reactions: DailyLunatic
Aside from fermenting, ECA is the next best option, but like Adam said, cultured buttermilk powder may give you enough tang, I used it in a chicken sausage, but don't remember how much I added. I will see if I can find that particular recipe. It was good, but I don't make much chicken sausage.