How old is too old??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rcdatadude

Original poster
Nov 19, 2007
I'm a newbie at this, but had a question regarding the age of the wood used for smoking. I've read other articles stating that wood more than two years old should not be used for smoking..... I have access to a hickory tree which fell during hurricane Rita. It has been laying in the same spot for about two years. I would like to use it to smoke recently purchased meat. My question is......since it hasn't been split, would it be ok to use? I don't want to ruin my meat investment... Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Welcome to SMF! This is a great place to learn about smoking. Just ask questions when you have them and the folks around here will have you smoking like an old-timer in no time at all.

I'm not a real experienced smoker, but my first thought would be to do a "test burn" and see what you think of the smell of the smoke. If it smells "funky" or off, don't use.

I'm sure someone who know a lot more than I do will be along soon to help you out more.

Glad to have you with us.

Welcome to the forum.

I'm using a limb of a hickory that had fallen during Ivan and it was two years fallen but not to the ground, it was hanging. I'd take a chainsaw and chop it up look at it and decide if you want to use it. Some parts may be bug infested, or rotten, but a lot of it maybe perfect for smoking. Chop it up and look at it. See if it's okay or not.