Holding Temps - Is it just me?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

illini40

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Feb 12, 2017
Good morning

Is it just me, or is there something I am missing?

I struggle to regulate and hold even a somewhat steady temp on both my smoker and grill.

I have a Masterbuild gas smoker and a Weber gas grill. I am using a Weber iGrill2 for a thermometer. It seems that I am constantly battling the smoker or grill as the temps are either dropping or climbing.

Any suggestions? Is it simply user error?

Thinner metal smokers/grills are much more easily effected by wind then ones made of thicker material. If grilling/smoking in a breezy area a wind break might be in order.

Another factor might be "having a look". Constantly opening the lid to check to see what's going on is a no no. The old saying "if your looking you ain't cooking" are words to live buy. On a 16-18 low and slow cook on my BGE I open the lid 3 times. Two of the three lid openings is either putting the meat onto start or taking it off when finished.

Thanks for the response and ideas.

I have tried to reduce as much wind exposure as possible. Both last weekend and this weekend there was minimal breeze, and I still had some challenges of constantly going up or down.

I do not think looking is an issue. Especially with my smoker, I do not open it much at all.

I have the iGrill thermometer to monitor temps, and I adjust the gas as needed. No need to open up and look to do those.

This is the smoker I have: https://masterbuilt.com/product/20051311-30-vertical-propane-smoker-2/

It has a small water/drip pan above the chip pan. I also run a cast iron pan, on top of the factory chip pan, to put my chips in.