Hey newbie here (both to the forum and grilling).

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
Welcome aboard from NC.

My first smoker was a Weber WSM. (Charcoal smoker) I don't recall having any real difficulty in figuring it out. I read a lot of posts about how to go about cooking with it and started out with chicken and cheaper cuts till I got the hang of it.

Welcome. You can learn a lot from the good folks here. There are a ton of different options for smokers today, from very cheap to incredibly expensive. Each has their place. If you ask me, I’d probably say start with a pellet smoker for it’s ease in fire management so you can focus on rubs, brines etc. keep in mine your first smoker will most likely NOT be your last 😁

Reactions: bigfurmn
Welcome to the forum - it's quite useful. My first (and so far only) are the Traeger Timberline 1300's - pellet grills. Easy enough to manage, and with smoke tubes etc., I get plenty of smoke when needed. It's not the same as an offset, but I am not entering any competitions :).

Good luck!

hey bud,

Welcome.. As for grills to help you we need a few details.

Price range
Can u manage a fire or u need a gravity feed or pellet?
Space available
Preference of charcoal, pellet, electric, propane or stick burner?

I am biased but the masterbuilt gravity feed and the char griller gravity feed would be my advice with the little advice given.

Attachments

• grill.jpg
    grill.jpg
    131.1 KB · Views: 5