Help with wood

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Trae Brown

Original poster
Jan 16, 2019
I am new to smoking and have used my new propane smoker only twice. The first time I made wings with wood chips and the second I did a pork shoulder with chunks. I feel like the wood is burning way to fast because I am using an entire bag for each smoke. Is that the norm to go through that much wood? Will placing the wood in aluminum foil help to slow down the burning process? I have even read that soaking the chips help. I have a Masterbuilt propane smoker. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks y'all!!!! It may be that Wal-Mart has cheap wood and that is why it is burning easy. Is there a place that anyone prefers to get wood that may be of better quality?

Reactions: SonnyE
Welcome! Do a search for gasser mods, there are a few and probably the most well known is using a small cast iron pan on top of the burner to help with what you are experiencing. An entire bag of wood is alot. You want thin blue smoke (TBS). Barely visable. TBS gives food a good smoke falvor. Heavy white smoke gives food a rough taste. When I ran my gasser I did the CI pan mod and tried lots of things with chips etc and preferred larger chunks for the best smoke.

I have the MES electric, but assume your propane is basically the same. Many of us use the Amazn products and pellets to get our smoke. Never used wood period, and definitely no water, in the pan or anything.

I have the Amazn maze and love it. I have gotten up to 10 hours TBS on mine with no changing or adding pellets. Lots of folks like the tube, but I have not used one of these.

And welcome to the forum.

Hi Trae!
Welcome to
small-logo.png