• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Help!!! My pit boss 440D is out of control

Volmanal

Newbie
6
0
Joined Apr 19, 2019
I bought a used pit boss. It was not powering on so I replaced the blown 5 amp inline fuse. Once I got it powered on I was getting a Err code so I replaced the temperature probe. That got rid of the error and I thought I was all set. Well I went to do a test run and followed all the correct steps for preheating and I noticed on smoke the auger kept feeding the pot and The lighter would not go off. I tried raising the Psetting to the highest and still doesn’t slow the augur down. It reached up to almost 600 degrees before I turned it off. After it was in the off settings, it still was turning the auger and lit. I had to unplug it all together. Any ideas what would cause this?
 

bregent

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
1,814
910
Joined Mar 1, 2014
Possibly wires to the fan, igniter, and auger got switched, but more than likely a shorted triac(s) on the board. If you how to test a triac for shorts, you might be able to replace them for cheap. Another option is to just get a replacement control board. Does the displayed temp match actual temp as measure by another thermometer?
 

Volmanal

Newbie
6
0
Joined Apr 19, 2019
Possibly wires to the fan, igniter, and auger got switched, but more than likely a shorted triac(s) on the board. If you how to test a triac for shorts, you might be able to replace them for cheap. Another option is to just get a replacement control board. Does the displayed temp match actual temp as measure by another thermometer?
Yes it does display the correct temperature on the digital board.
 

Volmanal

Newbie
6
0
Joined Apr 19, 2019
And it also matches another thermometer correctly

I will take the board out and check the wiring
 

Volmanal

Newbie
6
0
Joined Apr 19, 2019
All the wires are still in their original zip tie. I bet it’s the triac. Without taking one out, does anyone know the voltage and amperage I am gonna need?
 

bregent

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
1,814
910
Joined Mar 1, 2014
My Memphis uses BTA12's, which I believe are rated at 600V and 12A.
 

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.