Help! Brisket Questions!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

stevenm621844

Original poster
Dec 25, 2018
So, newbie here so if I'm not following certain forum rules, I apologize!

I've only smoked one brisket and it was a few years ago so I'm basically having to learn the basics all over again and have a few (most likely subjective) questions. I will he smoking 2 briskets (9# and 11#).

First, I have a Traeger. The recipe calls for placing the fat side down. I've seen so many conflicting views on this and maybe one isn't more right than the other but I can't decide what to do. Typically I've placed fat side up so it will render down and keep the meat moist. But, I've also read that the fat running down it will remove a lot if the dry rub. I've seen where having the fat down will act as a good heat barrier which i think would be nice because the outsides of the grill tend to get quite a bit hotter and having that fat down I feel would help with that. I guess I am leaning towards fat down but wanted ya'll to chime in.

Also, I've read conflicting opinions on putting the brisket in cold (direct from fridge) so that there is more time for the smoke ring to develop. But others say you need to let it get to room temperature before putting it on. I'm leaning towards putting it on cold, but again wanted everyone's opinions.

Thanks ahead of time for any and all guidance, it is appreciated!