Hello from the UK - Smoking newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jond

Smoke Blower
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Aug 9, 2008
Windsor, United Kingdom
Hi,

My name is Jon and I live just outside London in the UK.

I have been experimenting with wood chips for a few years using a lidded BBQ and have always had good reports but have finally realised my dream of buying a proper smoker although very few companies here sell them. Having said that I look forward to introducing friends and family to the concept of smoking :)

I took delivery last week of a Char Griller Smokin Pro http://www.chargriller.com/openimage...6.jpg&loaded=1 which i have assembled and seasoned :)

Unfortunately the weather here has been awful for the last week so have been unable to have a go at smoking anything yet, looking through the huge amount of information on the forums it appears that i will need to make some modifications, firstly the aquisition of a decent dual input digital thermometer :) I did also buy a good meat thermometer.

The version I have of the CGSP is distributed by a German company and there are some other slight anomalies between the original and EU version which require further investigation, mainly around balance as the smoker will almost tip over with the charcoal tray open from the firebox which is far from ideal.

I bought with the CGSP a good selection of different wood chips and pellets as i haven't found a source for the types of real wood that are common in the US.

I would be grateful for any basic starter ideas for recipies and other newbie tips :)

Cheers!

Jon.