Hello from Ontario

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

seth d

Original poster
Jul 9, 2016
Durham Ontario
  Greeting from the North.  Where to begin.  Well, I work as a brick and stone mason on residential houses.  Been working at it for 11 years now.  I am a 30 year old privileged white male and am married to a white woman and we have three white kids... we live in an bungalow in a small town in Ontario.  Pretty original eh? 

My skill level in grilling and smoking would be beginner level.  We used to always smoke and grill when I was young but that was long ago.  I am looking to make my own now that I have a house and room to build.

Hobbies include but not limited to running a shovel, pick, and sledgehammer; playing with my kids; riding my motorcycle; working on the house or in the yard; and last but not least, spending time with the wife.  I used to play bass guitar in bands but a somewhat recent injury to my hand has designated me to being a drummer.  Now I mostly just play with the church worship team as time to practice covers or original material is just not there. 

Well I look forward to getting to know you all.  I have been reading up and trying to soak up as much knowledge as I can before starting the build.  The frost is quite a bit different here then say in NC.  I think 42" is the frost line.  I was just going to pour a pad and do an Argentine grill but realize that I would not be fulfilled without a smoker.  Ug, already dug out a 28' by 22' patio so what is a 8' by 4' footing. 

Good to have you with us, Seth!
It's great to hear of someone with a skilled trade and proud of it. We need more of that!
You're 30 and talking about when you were young? Son, you're still a pup to many of us LOL!