Gonna be an all nighter. PP, Baked Beans, ABT's oh boy!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dauntless

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Jun 1, 2010
Groton, CT
Well my folks are coming into town tomorrow so I am doing a bone in pork butt, baked beans, and a couplke abt's for the over night snacking. 

I rubbed the butt with Jeffs rub, injected it a couple hours ago with apple juice, jack daniels honey, and some of the rub. I plan on spritzing it a little with the same mixture. I will be trying JJ's finishing sauce for the first time. The beans are just canned Bush's grilling beans (sweet mesquite style) I am still unsure of whether to doctor them or not, this is my first time smoking beans. The ABT's will be stuffed with cc, shredded cheddar and of course bacon wrapped.

The game plan is to get the smoker rolling tbs at 225 or so and bring the butt to 200 degs (hopefully no more than 10 hrs), wrap in foil and towels and stick in a cooler for an hour or two before pulling. Not sure when I will add the beans but I figured 2-3 hours would be good time wise on those, so I will prob add them early and reheat tomorrow. 

Pics and the rest of the story to follow. Gonna try and take a nap and start smoking around midnight. I have been looking forward to this for awhile, have not had much time this summer to smoke, but i went on leave yesterday so I am taking full advantage of it.

Last edited:
I'm doing the same thing. Starting at midnight and doing baked beans as well. Good luck with yours!
And thanks for your service to our country. It is much appreciated!

Last edited:
Sounds like some good Q-View is coming this way from you. Can't wait to see the results.