Fuel for my offset smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Pit pixie

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jul 30, 2022
Southampton England 🇬🇧
Hi all,

I am new to smoking and I have been using coals as my base but I am finding I am having to add more during the cook.
I wonder if this is correct and whether the coals should be warm and glowing or cold?

I use appx a small piece of wood every 20 to 30 minutes, I am going though a lot of wood and wondered if this is correct....any help please?

Hi all,

I am new to smoking and I have been using coals as my base but I am finding I am having to add more during the cook.
I wonder if this is correct and whether the coals should be warm and glowing or cold?

I use appx a small piece of wood every 20 to 30 minutes, I am going though a lot of wood and wondered if this is correct....any help please?
Add hot burning coals to your already burning ones. Adding new coal will produce bad smoke and taste. Add small wood chunks to the hot coals. Every 20-30 mins is allot of smoke and spent wood. I use 2-3 wood splits at the beginning and a couple more during long smokes.

GL.

First off welcome to Smokingmeatforums.com and were glad to have you aboard. If you would, please swing over to Roll call and introduce yourself so we can get to know you better.