Fresh ham help please

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

EdP

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Jun 1, 2019
I’m getting a fresh ham (frozen:emoji_neutral_face:) from a relative, not sure of the weight yet.

What are the options for smoking? The only thread I found was brining for a few weeks and then on the smoker, seemed like injecting was a good idea too, but there wasn’t a finished product post so it’s possible there were no survivors :emoji_anguished:https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/fresh-ham.309408/

I’ve never tried this before so I’m clueless

If your looking to cure it then this is a good read.

I am a dry brine guy, but for a ham I would just go with Pop’s. It is just so much simpler. I would also inject the brine and get as much inside as it will hold, then just cover the ham with brine & let it go a couple of weeks In the fridge. After it is cured, smoke it to an IT of about 140 degrees, and it’s ready to eat!
Al

If you're just starting out, I agree with zwiller zwiller and SmokinAl SmokinAl by starting out with Pop's brine. It's simple, injectable, and very safe. Later, consider using a dry brine curing formula as it gives tastier results. But it's best to build your confidence with a proven safe a delicious method first. I just finished smoking two Pop's brined shoulders and they are fantastic. It also doesn't take weeks. Two weeks is fine and 10 days is my norm. But I know guys who will go a week with great results. Let us know any questions you have, take notes, and take pictures. We love pictures.

Use my method... It makes the best ham several folks have ever tasted..

1666815116603.png

1666815306429.png

1666815561575.png