First Time Bacon Help Please

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SmokinVOLfan

Smoking Guru
Original poster
OTBS Member
Feb 27, 2018
Knoxville, TN
So this is my first attempt at bacon and any help is much appreciated.

I cured a 13 pound pork belly from Costco for 2 weeks and currently the slabs are resting in my beer fridge uncovered waiting for smoke. Have had them in for a couple days now and I'm thinking they are ready.

Question #1 is: I am planning on possibly smoking this overnight tonight using my AMNPS with apple pellets in my MES40 for say 10-11 hours. I am afraid the temp might get up too high. I think I read somewhere fat starts rendering on bacon at 115? Does this plan sound plausible or you think I would have any problems with this? Temps are usually in the 70's around here at night time right now.

Questions #2: I have asked around here and there on different threads but I am needing to invest in a meat slicer. At this point in time I don't need a heavy duty commercial slicer(unless I found a steal on craigslist) and don't really want to drop the $400+ dollars otherwise. There are several "home use" slicers on amazon for fair prices and think this would be a good place to start but they all seem to have 3-4 stars and the reviews are all over the place on them. Does anyone have any suggestions or can point me in the right direction there?

Thanks for the help!

I hot smoke all my bacon , I'm not sure on the rendering temp of the fat , but plan sounds good to me .

Slicer wise I use the 180 watt 8.7 " deluxe from Cabela's . I believe it's made by Nesco . I really like it . Works great . I actually went out and got it when I did my first bacon .