First Post

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

uvalde

Original poster
Dec 22, 2015
Simpsonville, SC
I have been a member for many years, but this is my first post.
Originally from Uvalde, TX but have lived in Simpsonville, SC since 1988

My background is in manufacturing and enterprise software systems supporting operations

I have a Traeger 34 that I bought back in 2015. It has served me well, but probably getting close to replacing it

I am trying to find recipes to smoke a 24lb fresh ham for Christmas. Nothing elaborate on spices, actually prefer to stay simple.
All I seem to find is recipes using already smoked hams. Any suggestions?

Welcome out of the shadows.

Need a little more info on the ham issue. If you are talking about curing a 24 lb fresh ham then hot or cold smoking it, hopefully you've already started curing. Curing for cold smoking should have been started a while ago. Curing for hot smoking could still be done with a lot of injection then a 7-10 day submerged curing period, followed by a hot smoke.

Please fill in the details what you need to do.

As for the ham, I've never smoked a whole green ham, but if you're smoking it to slice for Christmas dinner, maybe diamond cut the outside with about 1/2 inch deep cuts, coat liberally with yellow mustard, and then heavily with a dry rub of your choice, or S.P.O.G., or here's one I use for Boston Butts...
  • 1 cup paprika
  • 4 tablespoon black pepper
  • 4 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 4 tablespoon chili powder
  • 4 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 4 tablespoon onion powder
  • 4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
The mustard doesn't really add any flavor, it just holds the spices on the meat and of course these measurements can be adjusted to your tastes.