First Boston butt, a few ?'s

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chewmeister

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Aug 28, 2013
Eastern PA
Picked up a bone in butt today and planning to smoke this weekend, Should I trim off the layer of skin first, or any other trimming? This is my first time also with a dedicated smoker. Have cooked ribs for years on a grill with a smoker box and been happy with the results. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Hi chew and welcome to the forum. What kind of smoker did you get? As far as prepping you pork did you get a Boston butt a.k.a pork shoulder roast or a picnic roast? A Boston will have a "fat cap or thick layer of fat on one side some people will trim the thickness of the fat cap to about half, others will do cross sectional cuts through it to allow the rub to penetrate the cap and come into contact with the meat, and some people just leave it the way it is. If it's a picnic roast it will have a layer of skin on it, if that is fact what you have I would definitely trim that off because the rub wont penetrate through. Next would be putting your rub on, I apply mine the night before I smoke it,  apply a liberal amount to all sides and wrap in plastic wrap and keep in the fridge until your smoker is ready. As far as wood I have used Hickory, apple, cherry, pecan, sometimes i mix them others times just straight. One note is if you do not already own one a Maverick digital remote thermometer is a very wise investment. Never smoke pork shoulder by time always by temp and allow for plenty of time, I've had a 10lb finish in 12hrs and an 8lb go for 14+ each piece of meat is different. Hope that helps a little.