First attempt in a Royal Gourmet electric smoker with questions??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

linebackeru2007

Original poster
Dec 27, 2018
  1. Hello, I'm new to smoking cheese and planning to try for the first time. I have a Royal Gourmet electric smoker that I plan to use with a 12" smoke tube with no heat. I have been doing a fair amount of online research before I start and what I have found is that most say the smoke needs to circulate. This electric smoker has no top vent to allow for the release of smoke. Is this okay? Or will this affect the cheese by making it too strong of a smoke taste? Looking for help/suggestions on times etc also. Looking to smoke some cooper and possibly Gouda and mild Cheddar. Thanks!

+ QuoteReply

It should have some sort of vent some where, open it to full and use a mild wood.

I've never seen this model up close but surely there must be a way for air to flow through?

Others on the Amazon site say it has no way for the smoke to exit, as well.
Kind of perplexing. You think there would be some way to allow an exchange.
Otherwise, a modification could be done to allow a vent out.
In the pictures it shows air inlets in the floor of the smoker. Maybe the door is designed to leak to allow an exchange?

Royal Gourmet Electric Smoker

Since I'm cold smoking I guess if there is no vent I could just crack the door slightly to allow smoke to release from the unit? Doesn't help me if I'm going to smoke meat but should be ok with cheese I'm hoping?

I have read that most prefer a mild wood for cheese but I have hickory pellets from A-maze-n I was going to try. Should I only smoke for 2 hrs or less since it is a stronger flavored wood?