First attempt at smoking a whole turkey today

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

grillfanatic

Original poster
May 28, 2011
Northern IN
For almost 10 years now we have had Thanksgiving dinner for our families at our house and have been deep frying turkeys which always come out great.  I have been smoking pork and beef for several years and never braved up to a turkey- well I decided I am going to give it a try. This has always sounded good but is normally cold and windy here around the holiday season and opt not to use the smoker. We normally do two turkeys, one buttery garlic injected and one cajon injected.  I picked up a turkey last night and wanted to do a trial run so I have it on the smoker now, been on for about 3 hours so far.  I only found limited ideas and recipes and due to time limitations I did not brine the bird but as most guys seem to suggest.  I did rub it well with a olive oil/rub combination going over the entire outside and also under the skin. 

It is pretty windy today so I built a large surround for the firebox side of my smoker to help keep temps more stable. My smoker is a barrel type with side fire box (CharGriller Super Pro).  This smoker has always been a handful getting temps up high and staying steady, especially on a windy day!, so it has been a chore today to get them in the 250-300 range as it seems most guys suggest for a turkey.  I tried to read several writeups on smoking a turkey but does not seem to be too many on this forum.