Educate me on salt content and use of #1 cure

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ihocky2

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 12, 2011
Lehigh Valley, Pa.
I have been making jerky off and on for several years, a lot more in the last 2 years. I have always used the Hi Mountain kits. I like the flavor and it is what I grew up expecting jerky to taste like. I am ready to branch out and start trying some other recipes. One that interests me is the chili lime. While at the store I found a dry seasoning for chili lime that sounds really good that I am going to give a try.

This will be my first time using #1 cure. The Hi Mountain kit contains either some type of maple cure or something similar to tenderquick I suspect. For 1 pound of meat their recipe is about 1-1/2 teaspoons of seasoning and 2 teaspoons of cure. With #1 cure I need 1 teaspoon per 5 pounds (by weight I believe it is 0.2 oz), so less than 1/4 teaspoon per pound. This is nowhere near the volume from Hi Mountain.

How much salt flavor can I expect the #1 cure to add? I know with sausages a common method is to season and then fry up a little to taste it. I imagine there is no reason I cannot do the same for jerky. If I remember correctly you should not add the cure and then fry it. I don't want to add salt to the seasonings, test it, and then come back and add cure and find it too salty.

Ignore the premix cures recipes for going on your own . They add a lot of ??? so it is not cure #1
As I remember, cure #1 adds about 0.5% salt to the mix.
Jerky needs to cure at least a day

According to LEM you can interchange sausage and jerky seasoning to make either sausage or jerky depending on your meat prep and finishing