Dry and tough Brisket

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fire2fire

Original poster
Jan 30, 2024
I'm going to start with saying I am brand new at this just getting my first smoker (Masterbuilt MB25) about a month ago but have been reading and researching as best I could. I recently bought a 7-8 lb brisket, Apple woodchips, hickory woodchips, and a dry rub we liked. I thought we did everything as what was told between instructions and what we read but the brisket came out tough like a well done steak and dry. I did a yellow mustard layer, dry rub and the did the smoking. I did around 7-8 hours at around 225 but we had to keep opening the the door ever hour or so to replace the wood chips and sprayed it for moisture we also around 3 hours in wrapped in butcher paper. After we took out placed under a cover to maintain moisture and rest for about a 1 and 1/2 hours. The brisket flavor was good but the color, texture and moisture were all not great. If someone could give pointers on what to do next time that would be great I thought I was prepared but was wrong.

What was the temp of the brisket when you pulled it out? I noticed when I had my masterbuilt MES 30 it didn’t need any help for moisture inside the cabinet. Did you verify the temp inside with a separate thermometer? Also I’m not familiar with that smoker but it doesn’t have a chip tube to add chips without opening the door? Opening it every hour is a lot to help it maintain temp.