Complete Newbie here

Discussion in 'Roll Call' started by iceman3876, Dec 28, 2006.

1. iceman3876

iceman3876 Newbie

Just want to say "hello." My expertise in smoking is nil. I have an electric smoker and wish to learn the do's and dont's of smoking all types of meats. I will appreciate all advice. Thanks

2. q3131a

q3131a Meat Mopper OTBS Member

Welcome. Lots of good information on this board. Check out the pork, poultry and beef sections for how-tos. Check out the sauces and side dishes sections for recipes. Check out the wook, propane and electric sections for info on types of smokers.

Welcome again and good smoking!

3. iceman3876

iceman3876 Newbie

Thank you so much. I intend to learn alot. It wasnt but about a year ago that I joined a pizza making forum. One year later, I have a neighborhood of friends that love my pizza. Talk about making a neighborhood a family. This year I want to hone my bbq skills and get'em coming over for some lip-smacking bbq.

Seriously, cooking is a surefire way to make a neighborhood a fantastic place to live. I am sure after this next year, I will have the sho-nuff equipment to host some great BBQ's. But I must take toddler steps with a simple eletric smoker and learn slowly. As Abe Lincoln once stated, "Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe." That being said, bear with me while I sharpen my axe.

4. chris_harper

chris_harper Master of the Pit OTBS Member

lol, lip-smacking bbq. my BIL calls my place, "smack that a** bbq".

5. Welcome to the SMF Iceman. Be sure to check out Jeffs 5 day e-course. It's a great place to start. I myself use a Char-Griller with side firebox. You should be able to get plenty of info on electrics in the Smoking Supplies and Equipment section.

Again Welcome Aboard
    pyro

6. larry maddock

larry maddock Master of the Pit OTBS Member

hello hello 3876,
    i have electric smoker..

its great----

what kind do you have....?????