• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Chicken skin tips anyone?

Smokin Matt

Joined Aug 14, 2019
So I’m a newbie when it comes to smoking, I usually do individual pork ribs and chicken drumsticks together, I cook at 250 degrees for 2 and a half hours the meat comes out perfect! But my chicken skin is chewy. Anyone have any solutions or ways to fix it?

5GRILLZNTN

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
Joined Sep 12, 2018
After smoking, put the chicken on a hot grill, or underneath the oven broiler to firm up the skin.

Jabiru

Smoking Fanatic
Joined Mar 5, 2019
I pat mine dry with paper towel, then pop salt on them and leave in fridge uncovered for a few hours or even overnight.

I also run a bit hotter with Chicken than other meats, 275-325F depending on how quick I want it done.

tallbm

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Joined Dec 30, 2016
So I’m a newbie when it comes to smoking, I usually do individual pork ribs and chicken drumsticks together, I cook at 250 degrees for 2 and a half hours the meat comes out perfect! But my chicken skin is chewy. Anyone have any solutions or ways to fix it?
Hi there and welcome!

The issue is that chicken skin always comes out leathery/rubbery unless cooked at a high enough temperature. If you cook/smoke your chicken at 325F temperature you should have edible skin and likely crispy skin. You probably want to stay 315F or higher.