Checking in from Michigan

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

buffalobob52

Original poster
Dec 6, 2009
St. Clair Shores, Michigan
I'm new to the forum, as of today. I was searching for info on smokers, the Brinkmann vertical charcoal to be exact, and found this site. I've been checking it out all day and I think I can keep myself busy for quite awhile with all the info.

I'm a carpenter/builder, specialized in high end custom kitchen installs for the last 18 yrs or so. Before that I did most everything else, built a few homes, decks,roofs remodels ect. Last year when things slowed up the company I subed for decided to give all the work to the younger and cheaper installers. I looked for work but not much was going on so I decided to have a few surgeries that I have been postponing.

Since Nov.of last year I have had both shoulder joints replaced and this Jan. I am having my right knee joint replaced. Antway, lucky for me my wife is a nurse and we have been able to weather this storm.

So I've been doing most of the cooking for the last year and have been trying, with limited success, to smoke in my propane BBQ. So I've decided to get a smoker. My dilema, should I build or buy. I'm looking at the Brinkmann vertical as a inexpensive start and then build a vertical out of a 55 gallon drum over the winter. Going to ask for the Brinkmann for Christmas.

Any help or suggestions are appreciated. I've already found a lot of info on the site.

I"m happily married 33 years, 3 children, 2 grandchildren and a boat.

Looking forward to participating on this forum.

Those vertical smokers are cheap and easy to use. A very good starting point. It is amazing the que that they turn out.