Casing quality: Sausage Maker or Syracuse Casings

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

LanceR

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Jun 1, 2012
Pinnacle, NC
I'm fairly new to sausage making and am still trying different vendors.  Both Sausage Maker and Syracuse Casings are here in New York and I prefer to do business locally or in-state when I can. Both seem to have pretty good reputations.

I'm looking for both hog and sheep casings for several batches of sausage and I would appreciate any advice anyone has who has tried both vendors.

Syracuse Casings has both dry packed tubed and pre-flushed tubed sheep casings and their hog casings come both pre-flushed tubed and hanks and dry packed tubed and hank.  The Sausage Maker casing seem to be dry salt packed.  I expect to keep the unused casings in our extra fridge so any advice on dry packed versus pre-flushed would also be appreciated.

Thanks

Lance

No experience with Syracuse Casings.

But I bought a couple of home packs from Sausage Maker. I hate 1 foot lengths, so about half of each bag went in the trash.

I buy from Butcher and Packer or Southern Indiana Butcher Supply. I end up with 2 to 3 lengths in each bag from either one.

Thanks.

I am looking for 100 yards at a pop so I'm hoping to avoid the short lengths and oddball diameters of the smaller packs.

Lance

Thanks.

I am looking for 100 yards at a pop so I'm hoping to avoid the short lengths and oddball diameters of the smaller packs.

Lance
You may have to go to DeWied Casings or another large casing company.

Reactions: stayhot
I have bought from Syracuse several times and am quite happy with the quality..