Camp Chef Woodwind

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Kathleenmelissa

Original poster
Jun 20, 2020
United States
Hi all -- I'm a total newb and just started diving into pellet smokers. I was leaning toward a Camp Chef Woodwind and just thought I'd get some real-world feedback on top of my review reading, youtube video watching, etc.. Does anyone have one? Let me know what you think. I like the sear box feature of it actually and am gravitating toward that. Would that be good for a first timer?

Last edited:
Reactions: kruizer
Welcome from Wisconsin. :emoji_cat:

I know nothing of the rig you are using but I am sure someone will be along to help you straight away.

JC :emoji_cat:

No experience with but I think the Camp Chef would serve you well. I would also lean towards the PID controller, It keeps your temperatures in check.

Hi and Welcome KM. I don't have one, but I agree the CampChef Woodwind looks like a winner.
I believe they also make some of the Cabela's models and it might be a bit cheaper buying one that route.

Hi and Welcome KM. I don't have one, but I agree the CampChef Woodwind looks like a winner.
I believe they also make some of the Cabela's models and it might be a bit cheaper buying one that route.
CC no longer makes Cabela's smokers. I have the Woodwind w/ Sear Box. I used the Sear Box about 4 or 5 times and decided a hot fry pan with butter does a much better job. I ordered the WiFi/PID upgrade a week ago. I love the grill, just not the Sear Box. Wasted money for me.

I am totally pleased with my Camp Chef Woodwind 24"WiF Grill; and can recommend it highly.
I've had Webers, Weber gas, Pit Barrel Cookers, Kamados etc and the Camp Chef is excellent.