Calling all Arizona or Hot Weather Smokers

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TXBBQinAZ

Original poster
Jul 31, 2020
Chandler, AZ
Hello all,

First time posting and looking for a little advice from the folks in Arizona or hot weather climates regarding offset smokers. I currently have a Masterbuilt electric smoker that I have been using for the past six years. This has been a great learning experience as it was the first time I had prepared and smoked an assortment of meats (went to college in Texas which is where I was introduced to smoking!). It is nice to have, but having anything larger than a 13lb brisket or turkey makes it rather tight with not much room to add other meats.

Which brings me to my question, I am in the market for a new offset smoker and I have been trying to find information regarding how any smokers handle the daytime and evening heat. Most evenings we are still above a 100 degrees after the sunsets. Anyone have problems with a certain brand handling the heat, smoker burning too hot, or any other overall problems? I would be using a large pool umbrella to try and shade the smoker as much as possible, but curious to hear y'alls comments.

Thanks in advance.

TXBBQinAZ

I used an offset for years and never factored in the air temp. I just tried to keep the drum close to 300 degrees per the lid mounted therm. Lump mesquite and hickory wood for the smoke/flavor. All a matter of managing the damper. It was an inexpensive Brinkman Smok-n-pit pro. Always a good meal produced but a certain amount of fussing. Got old, got lazy, went electric.

I work outdoors, construction field. It was 103 today. Lots of water. Pretty rough on an old man (I turn 70 in DEC). But it is never too hot to Q or grill!