Butts: Foil or not! Last minute!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jamantste

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 29, 2011
Meridianville, Alabama
So my butts have been smoking since 4am and I am nearing the 165 mark on at least the one that is probed(too fast?) They don't have a fantastic bark so I am thinking of going all the way to 205 with no foil. Think that'll help add a better bark?

This was my first smoke with the 732. Does the smoker temp really vary that much?! It would go from 245 to 201 in why seemed like one cycle of the thermometer....

This is my 4th smoke ever so I am still learning... Thanks again to all those who take the time to share your experience!
ad1d7a6f-7290-1e28.jpg

They look good.  I just posted pics of my pulled pork on here and I didnt foil at all.  Took a long time (19+ hrs), but I will do it this way from now on.  Really like the good bark I got on the outside...good luck

Mike

A couple of things...

Check your temp in another butt. 165 at this point is not too fast - I think you will hit a stall that will take a while.

I say no foil - or, sinc eyou have a couple butts foil one and see which you like better.

Good luck!

I do not foil my butts as I love the bark, but it does take a bit longer to cook.  If you have more then one, foil one and not the other then decide which you like better

I vote no foil too. I used to foil, but then I tried it without foil & haven't foiled since. The bark you get is to die for!

ad1d7a6f-8d5c-3b3c.jpg

Stalled at 165... All of them around the same temp though. That was a moment of relief... I have heard multiple butt stories of some wildly varying temps.

I think time is gonna be the deciding factor here. Depends on how long they Han out at 165...