Brisket question.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jokensmoken

Master of the Pit
Original poster
Dec 7, 2016
Whitmore Lake Michigan
I'm no expert but no novice either.
I've been invited by a local business and chamber of commerce to assist in a ribbon cutting ceremony and a BBQ meet and greet after.
I'm working with a professional caterer and competitive smoker and we are his commercial kitchen for our prep.
I dont doubt his expertise but he is suggesting I start my briskets (the main reason I was invited to participate) in the oven, hot and fast first...then go to the smokers.
I have never, ever heard of this technique and havent been able to find any information on this subject/technique, but he claims it is 100% legitimate, will cut my smoke time in half and produce the exact same results.
Have any of you kind folks ever heard of or used this technique and what is your opinion or experience.
I dont want to brag or butt heads with "the pro" but I'm extreamly confident in my technique and put out a mighty fine brisket even if I do say so.
TIA for any opinions or experiences you may have had doing this.
Walt

I have heard it the opposite way, start on smoker , finish in oven.. I wonder how the smoke ring looks his way? not to mention most of the smoke penetrates early in the cook.. I wrap my Briskets so his way wont work for me, no smoke flavor.. I say , stick to your way of cooking.. try his way at another time when there arent as many people.. my $00.02