Brisket Price Variations

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kampmann17

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 31, 2015
Firestone, Colorado
Guys, So I am new to this whole smoking thing. Have a whole chicken in the smoker now. I have a week off of work and going to do all the smoking I can. Anyway, I was at Target the other day and they were taking 5 bucks off a $20 or more meat purchase. I saw they had a 10# packer brisket so I picked it up for about $30.

Now I have asked two meat departments for the same thing and I have been given prices between $9/lb and $14/lb. WHAT!!! I bought the choice level meat at Target. Is there that much of a price difference in brisket. Someone help me understand.

There will be differences with the grading of the meat and what the shops that sell the meat think they can get for it. We have a grass fed butcher and there prices are crazy I'll buy the cheaper meat and not know what I'm missing for the most part.

The last brisket I did was $2.96/lb, which is what Wal-Mart has been selling them for here lately. That's down about a $1/lb from about 6 or 8 months ago. 

But, I rarely buy expensive beef. 

Okay, thanks guys. One of the butchers was a grass fed one. Still, a 500% increase seems a bit high. I just wanted to make sure a brisket is a brisket. Thanks and I will start shopping those cheap guys a bit more. Once I get good at it then the good stuff but not until then.

The last brisket I did was $2.96/lb, which is what Wal-Mart has been selling them for here lately. That's down about a $1/lb from about 6 or 8 months ago.
Thanks for the info.  I had no idea Walmart sold these.