Brining a Pork Loin

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

adamsrib

Original poster
Dec 11, 2012
I'm a newbie to smoking meats, but thoroughly enjoying what I've done so far.  I'm going to smoke a 10# Pork Loin for about 15 people this weekend and have Jeff's recipes.  Would it be advantageous to brine it or not.   I'm still a little scared of getting stuff too salty. I've done a few turkey breasts (brined) that have been great.  Suggestions truly appreciated!

If you stick to 1/3 to 1/2C Morton Kosher Salt per gallon of water you will be fine. Also you can slice a piece off and fry it if too salty give the meat an hour or two fresh water soak. Leave the Salt out of Jeff's Rub if you Brine the salt will already be in the meat. Here is a Brine you may like and my Apple Pork Topper...JJ

Pork Brine

2-12oz.Cans Apple Juice Concentrate

1C Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4C Molasses

1/4C Mustard

1/2C Kosher Salt

2T Pickling Spice (optional)

1T Sage, rubbed

1Gal Water

Apple Pork Topper

3C Apple Sauce

3T Dijon Mustard

3T Brown Sugar

2T Apple cider Vingar

1tsp Rubbed Sage

1/2tsp Black Pepper

1/2tsp Salt

1/8tsp Cinnamon

Optional: 2-3 Apples, peeled, diced and sauteed until golden brown and tender in 2T Butter.

Place all in a pot and simmer on low until thickened as desired. Adjust sweet/salt to taste. Spoon over Pork Roast, during last 30-60 minutes of Cook time and/or over the pork at the table.

Last edited:
Reactions: jannis