• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

best casing size for most sausages

gdp

Fire Starter
Joined Feb 18, 2019
Newbie here. I've made a few batches of hot dogs and sticks, and now ready to step up and make "middle size" sausages like italian, brats, boudin for sure, etc. The issue I have is that I like buying an entire hank for the quality but a hank might last me a year or 2 or 3 at the rate I make sausages. I like natural casings and very pleased with the 20 and 22mm casing hanks I got from Butcher Packer, so now I'm hoping to find 1 natural casing size that will be good for all of the middle size sausages mentioned above. It would be nice to only have to keep 1 size in the fridge. Maybe it's like asking if Ford or Chevy is better :) , but if you had to pick 1 size casing for italian/brats/boudin, what size would you get?

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 3, 2009
Personally I like 29-32mm, but 32-35mm is the go to for most people.

chopsaw

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Joined Dec 14, 2013
Me too , 29 - 32 .
The issue I have is that I like buying an entire hank for the quality but a hank might last me a year or 2 or 3 at the rate I make sausages.
They will last that long when stored correctly .
Mine used to last that long . Just got my 4th bucket in the mail last week . Hard to eat store bought after you get your own figured out .
I use these ,
20190302_113647.jpg

pops6927

Gone but never forgotten.
Staff member
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Jul 23, 2008
I use 32-35 mm in pre-tubed casings from Syracuse casings - www.makincasing.com they are packed in salt, just rinse off what you need and store the rest in your refrigerator!

Last edited:

pops6927

Gone but never forgotten.
Staff member
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Jul 23, 2008