Best Brisket (by accident) I've Ever Made

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

MJB05615

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
May 12, 2018
DACULA GA
Evening All. Been very busy and haven't posted in a while. Anyway this was from July 4th. We had our first get together of a few close friends in 2 years. I smoked a Brisket. I'll briefly explain below each picture and get to the point of the "by accident" very fast.
Had a 15.6lb Prime Brisket from Sam's in the Freezer for a while. I got it back in March for $2.38/lb.
IMG_2646.jpg
All rubbed after trimming with a recipe I've been using for 8 years.
IMG_2647.jpg
Onto the MES 40 Gen 1 at 10pm after sitting in the Fridge overnight. Cooking at 225' using only Hickory.
IMG_2653.jpg
Now here's the "Accident" part. Here it is all done nicely probe tender, resting after finishing unwrapped, etc. Looks like everything went perfectly normal.
We planned to serve Dinner at 4pm, but this was just about done , IT 205, probe tender, etc around 1pm. Not sure why, never had it done so fast in the past, even with smaller cuts.
So instead of wrapping in blankets and putting cooler, etc. I left it in the smoker with the temp set at 125 for the next 3 hours. I've never done this before.
IMG_2654.jpg
When we started slicing and all, it was the juiciest and most tender Brisket we've ever done. I am definitely doing them this way from now on.
IMG_2657.jpg IMG_2658.jpg
The Bark was excellent, without wrapping for the first time. Even the Flat was moist. Got some leftovers of the Point Vac Sealed in the freezer, can't wait to use it.
Everyone enjoyed it as well as the sides. No pics as we were all very busy gabbing with folks we haven't seen in almost 2 years.