Another dry brisket thread... details and questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BBQlover81

Fire Starter
Original poster
Aug 16, 2018
Hi all,
I'm new to the smoking world (have a Traeger, and used it a few times for ribs, which have turned out well).

Tried brisket for the first time yesterday, and while it taste good (with sauce), it was way too dry. I'm trying to figure out where I went wrong.

Here are the details:
-Costco brisket, about 7.5lbs
-Seasoned about 12hrs before cook. Montreal seasoning, which consists mainly of salt, garlic and pepper (I realize that this may have been an error... maybe there was too much salt)
-I did trim the fat down to a bit less than a quarter inch
-Cooked on Traeger smoker @ 225 for about 5.5hrs. Fat side down. The temperature of the brisket actually climbed pretty quickly. It had hit 160 in under 4hrs, but hit the stall then. My recipe had asked for 6hrs before moving to the next stage, so I let it continue to smoke till it hit about 165
-At the 2, 3 and 4 hour marks, I sprayed it with a Coke/ Apple cider mix
-At 5.5 hrs, moved it to a foil wrap. Added the Coke/ Apple cider mix
-Continued to smoke for about 3hrs. I think it reached about 205 by the end, although I may not have placed the thermometer in the right spot (so it may have actually been hotter than that)
-However, I did do the poke test periodically towards the end, and I think that it was fairly soft (although maybe no soft enough)... more like refrigerated butter as opposed to soft butter
-At the end, I wrapped it in foil and towels, and placed in the cooler for about 2hrs