And I'm Off

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

GATOR240

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Oct 15, 2017
N.Western Pa.
I have been putting this off for several months now and I finally decided to make some bacon. I purchased a 9 lb. belly at the local butcher shop and am using Bear's "Bacon Extra Smokey" recipe. I'm going to back off on the smoke somewhat as the wife doesn't care for a lot of smoke. Will post follow up pics.

001.JPG

Gonna be good
Hoping so, unless I mess it up. Have used several of Bears recipes, and I know if they don't turn out well it's on me. -THE FOLLOWING IS TRUE - The wife just said to me not 5 minutes ago "You have big shoes to fill" Thanks my friend!:emoji_wink: No pressure!!:emoji_anguished:

After 9 days of flipping and massaging the bacon and letting it soak in the sink for an hour, it was time to do the fry test
FEB 2019 Bacon 002.JPG

Placed on clean smoker racks and put it in the beer fridge for a day and a half. I did add CBP to 1/3 of the belly.
FEB 2019 Bacon 004.JPG

Time to smoke using apple dust. As said before, wife does not like a lot of smoke (she is coming around, so I don't want to push it!) The top rack was smoked for 2hrs the second rack 3hrs and the third for 4hrs.
FEB 2019 Bacon 006.JPG

FEB 2019 Bacon 007.JPG

Slicing the bacon by hand (will remedy that soon)
FEB 2019 Bacon 011.JPG

FEB 2019 Bacon 017.JPG

And the finished product that we had been waiting for......

FEB 2019 Bacon 019.JPG