A tale of three temps

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

SmithPen

Original poster
Jul 5, 2020
So, in case others do not know. I am new to smoking. Neighbor sold me his older MES portable electric when he scaled up. So far it's a nice diversion from grilling. Immediately upon use, and also based on his input, I learned how difficult it was to regulate heat on the analog electric smoker. So, I bought an electric controller that the smoker plugs into. I found immediately, much better control and a far better experience. I had also bought a wireless temperature meter (through app) that came with 6 probes. Thought was that I could at least see the temp of the meat as well as the temp of the smoker. When I installed the controller, I made a mistake. I installed the probe right above the element. As such I saw up to a 50 deg difference between the element location and the top rack. For future smoking, I will install the controller probe in between the top and bottom racks. Actually, being anal about such things, I am thinking of creating mounting locations at three locations; bottom rack, middle and top rack.

That being said, after the smoking done on Saturday, it occurred to me that I never looked at the temps between the controller and the thermometer. Were they in sync? No idea. So, yesterday I did a water bath test with the controller, wireless thermometer and stick thermometer. See pic.

Controller temp: 57.7
Wireless temp: 55
Stick Temp: 57.0

I am going to run this test again later today with hot water (near boiling) and see how they are on the upper range.
IMG_20200713_162410261-01.jpeg

Welcome to the smoking addiction!