A Question on Smoking Turkey From Someone New to Whole Concept of Smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rcote

Original poster
Dec 20, 2010
Hello all,

I am new to smoking and had planned on using my smoker to smoke my 22.5 lb. turkey for Christmas; however, we are having rain so that is now not possible.  So, here is my question.  I have a convection oven indoors that dehydrates and that can be set at a temp equivalent to the required temp for smoking in the outdoor smoker.  Would it be possible to put a pan of water on the bottom shelf along with a small tray of soaked cherry wood chips and cook my turkey in the oven indoors for approximately 13 hours and get similar results to that of smoking outdoors?

Your main concern would be to get a bird that size up to 140° within the safe amount of time allowed. Be sure and use a meat probe to know your internal temps. I'll let some others chime in on this. Play it safe. BTW, I moved your thread to roll call so that others can welcome to the SMF.It's all good my friend.

Last edited:
Yep, 40 - 140 in 4 hours. Your turkey can't stay in the 40-140 range for more than 4 hours, so your going to have to crank up the heat a little for the first hour or so to move it along, then you can bring it down to 225-250 for the rest of the smoke. Most will say it's better to smoke 2 - 11 lb. birds than 1 - 22 pounder. I suggest taking the E-course, it's free & will cover all the basics of smoking. Good luck and welcome to the SMF.