60+ person BBQ, An adventure……

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

TampaNole27

Original poster
Dec 20, 2018
I am super honored to not only be hosting my Father in Laws 60th, but also providing the bbq. I’ve been smoking for about 4-5 years now. I love the process and think I’m “okay” at it, but everyone else seems to love my bbq.
Thought I’d share the endeavor as it will be my largest cook ever, although I will be shortcutting.

Cooking:
3 - 10lb Pork Butts/pulled pork (week prior, tomorrow)
60- Chicken Drumsticks
50- Beer Brats

Using:
Dyna-Glo Offset Vertical (my tried and true)
Masterbuilt Gravity 1050 (my newbie)
Blackstone Griddle
B&B Charcoal and Pecan Wood Chunks
Yummly Meat Probe
Meat Church Holy Gospel Rub for pork butts (excited to finally try it)
Homemade Chicken Rub for Drummies

Will post pictures and update as it goes.

First Step: overnight rub for the butts. Will cook and pull tomorrow then immediately vacuum seal and freeze. Boil bag day of party. It’s cheating.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    136.5 KB · Views: 31
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    123.5 KB · Views: 32
Thank you!!!! Yeah if there’s another way to do it, like staying up all night, I don’t wanna do it lol.

Reactions: DougE
Sounds like a great plan TN27.
You're gonna love that MCHC and MB1050 !
Keep us updated with pics !
And remember to keep the juice.
Or you planning on a finishing sauce ?

Reactions: forktender
Looking forward to seeing you go at it! I’m with everyone else, good plan and that definitely isn’t cheating! 912smoker 912smoker had a good question, are you using finishing sauce? How do you plan on reheating?