1st Monster Brisket on WSM 22.5

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bakerman

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Nov 19, 2011
Columbia Maryland
I’m getting ready for my first brisket on my WSM 22.5. The brisket is a $100 dollar, 21lb monster. I have never done a hunk of meat this big before so I’m excited to advance my skill set.
I’ve been scouring the Forums Beef pages for info as well as Youtube. I think I’m all set. Here is the plan:

After work today, around 4-5 o’clock, start the WSM.
Full bag of Kingsford Blue with some Pecan and Hickory chunks, small chimney with the Minion method being applied. Water pan 3/4 full, shooting for 225-270 temp.

Remove most of the fat and trim the beastie, Worcestershire slather and SPG for a rub about 40/60 salt / pepper. Put it on the fire, fat side up. Leave it be for 4-8 hours, only address the temp of the smoker. Probes in before bed , one in the thickest part of the flat another on the grate. I’m thinking/ hoping it may be into the stall by this time. Temp 150-165 if all is well.
By Saturday morning I should be getting out of the stall. Pull and wrap in foil ( if needed),with some ( 1 cup) beef broth in the foil pocket. Seal it up tight . Add fuel if needed.
Wait until I get a 190 degree temp on the probe, then check for tenderness every 30 minutes. Once it’s probe tender pull it off the WSM. Let off some heat for about 10-15 minutes, wrap it up in towels and rest for 2-4 hours. This rest time will depend on when it’s finished. I don’t want to eat a 9 o’clock Saturday night, so I’m hopeful it’ll be done around noon Saturday.