What went wrong with this Brisket?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

littlej2455

Original poster
Jun 10, 2017
Hello! This is my first time posting here, but I have to say I have been using this website along with Jeff's book to help get me through my first smoke! I wanted to first thank you for all of the information.

My first smoke was a whole chicken and it was great, so then I wanted to attempt a brisket next, as it is my wife's favorite.

I am using an MES to cook the brisket. It was starting out well I thought because I was using the smoker thermometer to tell me ambient temperature. I was using this thermometer because my meat thermometer is one probe for both ambient and meat temperature. I quickly learned that I can not rely on the smoker thermometer because it said I was smoking at 225, but in reality when I placed my probe in, I was truly smoking at 205. Not great, and not too safe to be cooking that low. So once the meat probe was placed I raised my temperature to being close to 240-250. 

I waited until the 5 hours of cooking and my meat was at 150, so I decided to wrap the meat in foil. When wrapping in foil, I did not pour and juices in the foil, and I am not sure if I got a tight seal around where my probe stuck out.