Wood Chunks over logs in a offset smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

PitIntern

Original poster
Sep 7, 2020
The Netherlands
I have one small cheap offset smoker (Landmann Vinson 200), I have started in smoking just a couple of months ago, did 5 sessions (2 pulled porks, spareribs and one bacon) of smoking only with great results.

As a beginner I am struggling to get the famous blue smoke, my smoke is always a little white and smelling like a bonfire (which I read somewhere is not ideal).
I've been using wood chunks like the image below, mostly cherry, since the beginning as it was the easiest to find where I live. One thing that I noticed in all fire management videos is that everyone that uses offset smokers uses wood logs and those chunks are usually for Kamado/Weber grills.
1599470251677.png

Could that be (one of) my problem?
Also, the wood should be on flames or just ember? Because I am suspecting that my firebox doesn't have enough airflow to keep the wood with flames (even with the air dampers fully opened), only if I keep the door slightly open.
Should I try to switch from those chunks to logs/bigger chunks?

Last edited:
Reactions: JLeonard
Your smoker is designed to burn charcoal with wood chunks added for smoke. It is not designed to burn just wood. I think you are right , in that you don’t get the air flow you need to burn chunks that large, you probably should split them into smaller pieces.
Al

Reactions: sawhorseray
I don't like larger chunks of kiln dried wood, they just can't match aged wood both in the way it burns or the smoke flavor imparted.