Why don’t bbq restaurants wrap?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

88nitro305

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Apr 2, 2018
Ok so I’m gonna smoke ribs for the 1st time on my WSM. I’ve been smoking on my 22in Kettle for the past 5 years. I’ve wrapped all the time but once. How come you see bbq joints with massive pits never wrap there meat? Are they doing something different so they don’t have to? I want to make them as authentic as possible because living in Vermont we don’t have any bbq joints.. hopefully this makes sense and maybe I can get an idea of it all. Thanks

Depending on the type of smoker you are using and the temps you are cooking lots of people do not wrap their ribs. I have done it both ways on my set up and i like to wrap for about an hour because the ladies of my house prefer the more tender, close to FOTB as possible. This can be done without wrap but you cook it longer and/or higher temps (a lot depends on what you are using to cook with). I would guess most restaurants (and this will vary per bbq joint) will cook at higher temp or a bit longer because they don't want to use the manpower to wrap/unwrap ribs all day.
if anyone has any inside knowledge i would love to hear it too.

Happy Smoking,
phatbac (Aaron)

Reactions: 88nitro305
I use to wrap. Don’t do it any more. In most instances restaurant equipment has much better smoker temperature control than our backyard units. They also cook to a precise IT temp of the rib often mentioned by our pal Smokin Al. B

Reactions: 88nitro305