Which gravity smoker?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wahoowad

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Aug 2, 2014
Virginia
I have always preferred a charcoal style smoker but have been using my pellet smoker more and more these past couple years and my WSM less and less. Now I’m just learning about these gravity fed smokers and thinking of getting one. Initially I’m looking at a Masterbuilt 800 but curious if there are other brands with better performance? I like the size and form factor of the 800 over say a cabinet style cooker.

What is your budget?

There has been mixed reviews on the MB gravity units. If you have an increased budget a fully insulated gravity and cabinet will be similar. If your budget is up there id say go with whats cheaper on shipping

I don’t need or want a high end unit, but also dont want something cheap. What is something worth considering a step above the Masterbuilt gravity units?

They've been using insulated gravity smokers on the competition circuit for years; they aren't meant to hit searing temperatures but the insulation make then much more efficient than the MB units. The only semi-mass market or I've seen is the old country unit sold at Academy Sports and other retailers: https://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/old-country-bbq-pits-insulated-gravity-fed-charcoal-smoker

All of the other insulated gravity feeds I've been able to find are made to order. I have a southern Q Limo Jr. On order and hope to get it in January or February: http://southernqsmokers.com/gravity-feed-smokers