What went wrong-brisket?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Panaceafrog

Original poster
May 30, 2021
22" Weber Smokey Mountain.
I have been smoking briskets for the past 5 or 6 years on the three major summer holidays, and pork butts scattered throughout the year. I'm always changing a few things and tweaking, trying to get better bark or get through the stall easier, seasonings, etc.
-This time hear the things that I changed
I added gasket material along the rim of the top and the door. It took quite a while to actually find the spot or I didn't choke off the fire, but once I got it it literally stayed at 225 all night long.
-I bought the Costco brisket back in January and kept it in the freezer until about a month ago when I transferred it to the refrigerator and let it wet age in the cryovac. I think this is probably the biggest issue that changed the meat enough that I didn't realize how quickly it was cooking.
-I also separated the flat from the point before cooking. The flat was on the top rack, the point was on the bottom. I did have a bowl of water just above the coals. This also may have been a big contributor.
-I put the brisket on last night about 9:00 p.m. at about 11:00 p.m. It was at a steady 230 degrees.
-I was up a couple times last night to check the temperature of the grill. I have a thermal pro TP20, but one probe was broke so I was only monitoring the air temperature. This obviously was a problem.
The thing is is it by 8:00 a.m. the flat was at 215°, and totally dried out. The point was around 205 and a little better, I'm sure because of the fat content.