what type of sausage casings are best?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

saigonjj

Fire Starter
Original poster
Oct 9, 2012
Vietnam
I'm still fairly new to sausage making, and usually just form it into patties or small logs, but I do have a nice stuffer and do like to stuff them when I make a large batch.  This leads to my question: which types of casings are available and which is best?  I have previously used some salted hog casings given to me by a friend, and these worked fine, but I felt the casing was a bit chewy and interfered with the pure eatin' pleasure of the final product.  I don't know if this is just the nature of hog casings, or was particular to that brand.  I'm looking for advice as I can't find the casings I'm sure I bought over the summer, so am about to order more.

Thanks,

SaigonJJ

I'm interested in hearing the answers you get. I'm trying to learn about sausage making myself & see a lot of posts about different casings. Maybe one of the sausage kings will be along & notice your question & give you some guidance...
icon14.gif

Im fairly new to sausage making myself but I prefer natural casings for brats and kilbalsa. What ive heard is with natural casings is the slower you bring up the casing temp the less snap you get when biteing through. So if your going to boil put in cold water then bring to boil and if grilling start low then bumb up the temp. I prefer colagen if im making sausage for inside hotdog buns.The same thickness makes a better presentation I feel.