Weber top for UDS question!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokin mama

Original poster
Aug 21, 2011
Fenton, MO
I'm in the process of building my second UDS.  I have a Weber Kettle lid that I've modified to fit on top.  Do I need to drill any more exhaust holes on the lid?  Today I put the Weber lid on my existing UDS while I was smoking and my temps kept dropping.  I couldn't seem to keep the temp regulated at all. When I'd open all the intakes valves I could get the temp up, but as I'd start closing them it just would never stabilize.  Any help is appreciated!

Interesting question. 

It would seem to me that the exhaust vent in a Weber lid would be sufficient, but I'm no UDS expert.

For normal smoking temps they're fine, and I keep them wide open.

But I find the exhaust vents not sufficient for high temp cooks, like doing chicken at 350F, for instance.  I have to crack the lid open to let the drum breathe.

I know some 22" WSM owners add additional vents on the lid for this very reason.